Useful Links

Want this list as a handy PDF? Here you go:  Grad Orientation 2017 Resources – Links and Tips

Getting Started

UBC Wireless Networks

it.ubc.ca/services/email-voice-internet/wireless-internet-access

UBC Card

Apply online at ubccard.ubc.ca

  • Upload your own photo, pick it up at the UBC Bookstore
  • Use for: U-Pass (link online at upassbc.translink.ca), UBC Library, Building Access, at UBC Food outlets

 

Stop. Look. Sort.

UBC’s Zero Waste Initiative: Most of UBC’s garbage can be recycled or composted

Stop at a bin. Look at the signs. Sort your waste.

sustain.ubc.ca/campus-initiatives/recycling-waste/sort-it-out

 

Finding your Way on Campus

Wayfinding at UBC | maps.ubc.ca

UBC Food Services | food.ubc.ca/feed-me/

 

Courses, Money & Enrolment

Student Service Centre (SSC) | ssc.adm.ubc.ca/sscportal

Graduate + Postdoctoral Studies | grad.ubc.ca

Living Cost Calculator | grad.ubc.ca/prospective-students/tuition-fees-cost-living

Money Management | students.ubc.ca/enrolment/finances

 

Academic Success

UBC Libraries | library.ubc.ca

Research Commons | guides.library.ubc.ca/library_research_commons

Centre for Teaching, Learning and Technology | ctlt.ubc.ca

English Language Support | eli.ubc.ca and extendedlearning.ubc.ca/study-topic/english-communication-skills

Centre for Writing and Scholarly Communication | learningcommons.ubc.ca/improve-your-writing/

Access & Diversity | students.ubc.ca/about-student-services/access-diversity

Supervision & Advising | grad.ubc.ca/current-students/supervision-advising

 

Career + Experience

Graduate Pathways to Success | grad.ubc.ca/pathways

Centre for Student Involvement & Careers | students.ubc.ca/about-student-services/centre-student-involvement-careers

 

Health & Wellness

Wellness Centre | students.ubc.ca/health-wellness

BC Medical Services Plan (MSP) | students.ubc.ca/health-wellness/health-insurance and gov.bc.ca/msp

AMS / GSS Insurance Plan | studentcare.ca

Student Health Service | students.ubc.ca/health-wellness/student-health-service

Counselling Services | students.ubc.ca/health-wellness/mental-health-support-counselling-services

Aboriginal student counselling available at the First Nations House of Learning, 1985 West Mall | 604-822-8940

Sexual Violence Prevention and Response | sexualviolenceresponse.ubc.ca

Sexual assault counselling available at UBC Counselling Services and AMS Sexual Assault Support Centre | amssasc.ca

 

New to UBC – Get Advice + Address Problems

Office of the Ombudsperson for Students | ombudsoffice.ubc.ca

GSS Advocacy Office | gss.ubc.ca/main/services/advocacy

Equity & Inclusion Office | equity.ubc.ca

International Student Development (ISD at “I House”) | students.ubc.ca/international-student-guide

Graduate + Postdoctoral Studies | grad.ubc.ca

Your department Graduate Advisor + Staff

 

Campus Life – Safety and Getting Around

Safewalk | ams.ubc.ca/services/safewalk |604-822-5355 | using a UBC Blue Phone

AMS Bike Co-op and Bike Kitchen | www.bikecoop.ca

Attractions | attractions.ubc.ca

 

Getting to Know Vancouver

Tourism Vancouver | tourismvancouver.com

Translink Trip Planning | tripplanning.translink.ca